jump to navigation

“Guaranteed Niceness” – Sonar Kollektiv Orchester (Sonar Kollektiv) [ALBUM] March 19, 2008

Posted by rocketsciencemedia in Press Releases.
Tags: , ,
SK Orchester
TITLE: Guaranteed Niceness / ARTIST: Sonar Kollektiv Orchester / LABEL: Sonar Kollektiv / RELEASE DATE: 26th May 2008 / CAT NO: SK170CD

Last year, Sonar Kollektiv reached the grand old age of 10 years old – an incredible achievement for an independent label. To celebrate this milestone, they’ve formed the Sonar Kollektiv Orchester – a super-group made up of 15 label artists and friends. Led by the extremely capable Volker Meitz, and consisting of 3 vocalists, 4 strings, 3 horns and a full rhythm section, the SKO is a collaborative tour de force. Volker himself is no stranger to the Sonar Kollektiv stable, having worked with Jazzanova, Clara Hill, as well as other respected artists such as Pat Appleton, Phonique, and Patrick Majer. A talented musician, he provides the arrangements you hear on the record, and plays keyboards in the live set-up.

Six of today’s finest singers make up the bands core vocal presence: Esther Cowens, Wilson Michaels, Georg Levin, Lisa Bassenge, Sascha Gottschalk and Clara Hill. Esther Cowens is already known for her own project Greenissimo, and has also sung for Sam Ragga Band and Jan Delay. Clara Hill needs little introduction: an essential member of the SK family, she released the album Folkwaves on the label last year to critical acclaim. Georg Levin has released a solo album on Sonar Kollektiv, as well as a brand new album as Wahoo (with Dixon) on Four Music. Sascha Gottschalk is the singer and songwriter of Thief (together with Jazzanova’s Stefan Leisering an Axel Reinemer). Lisa Bassenge was front woman for the Lisa Bassenge Trio and is part of Nylon and Micatone.

Caroline Siegers and Anja-Susann Hammer from the string section have both played on the aforementioned Clara Hill’s Folkwaves album, while their colleague Sibylle Strobel has played violin for the Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra, Grönemeyer, No Angels, Ronan Keating and Virginia Jetzt!

The SKO also boasts a full brass section thanks to Nikolaus Neuser, Dirk Steglich and Petra Krumphuber. Guitars are supplied by Kalle Kalima, who has played for Jimi Tenor as well as Jazzanova, Georg Levin and Thief, with Paul Kleber from Sonar Kollektiv. Micatone takes care of the bass grooves.

Last but by no means least, Rainer Winch and Philipp Kullen complete the rhythm section on drums and percussion respectively. All in all it’s a star studded line-up of some of the most highly skilled musicians around, resulting in an incredibly polished sound.

The album more than lives up to expectations, and such a creative new collaborative project is sure to be a must have for fans of the label, as well as being a great introduction for newcomers. Far from being just another “best of” or retrospective, “Guaranteed Niceness” celebrates the wealth of great music within the Sonar Kollektiv back catalogue while reworking them in the context of an orchestra.


1. L.O.V.E. And You & I (Jazzanova)
2. Held Him First (Deyampert)
3. Ain’t no Dream (No Use Introduction) (Jazzanova / Meitz)
4. No Use / Another New Day (Jazzanova)
5. Rej (Âme)
6. (I Got) Somebody New (Georg Levin)
7. Midnight Marauders (Joe Dukie & DJ Fitchie)
8. Run / Fedimes Flight (Micatone / Jazzanova)
9. Silent Distance (Clara Hill)
10. Atlantic (Thief)
11. Boom Clicky Boom Klack (Jazzanova)
12. Africa (Meitz)
13. How To Find Royal Jelly (Lost Scrolls Of Hamaric)

If you would like some more information or you want to preview or review this release and would like to receive a promo copy, please contact sophie@rocketsciencemedia.com or simon@rocketsciencemedia.com



No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: